A Penny for His Thoughts…

Image

Not long after Ca$h became a part of our family I noticed that at times he seemed perfectly content to sit and simply stare at what seemed like nothing in particular. My Father noticed this too and wondered out loud what , if anything, might be running through the Pit Bull’s mind. I too, sit immobile and ruminate at times. And because of this I believe that the wheels in Ca$h’s mind are turning as he sits quietly alone.

One morning before the typical bustle of our household kicked in, I caught him basking peacefully in the sun streaming through the front door and snapped what I think is a priceless picture. Was he planning his busy day? Enjoying the warmth he had found? Psyching himself up for the day’s events? I do not know for sure, but I took a stab at reading his thoughts. And I do not think that I missed the mark by much.

Sunny day that is good means I get to go outside a lot hope we walk to the park and see lots of cats and squirrels oh boy if only we see a rabbit wanna go now gotta poop hope we get in that big shiny black thing and zoom zoom zoom and hang my head out the window and sniff all the sniffs in the air don’t even want to eat breakfast first let’s go right now can’t wait any longer where is she does she know I am ready to go now our walks never last long enough hope she lets me lead the way maybe find some chicken bones gotta grab them before she sees them wonder if any other dogs have peed on my turf gotta take care of that it’s my neighborhood where is she did I just hear the leash what is taking her so long it has been days since our last walk maybe I should grab her shoe and chew on it to get her attention plenty of time for naps and snacks later where is she I’d better go get her and remind her it is my walk time she is so old and forgetful poor thing how did she ever manage before she brought me home to take care of her?

Indeed. How did I ever manage?

This entry was posted in Anxiety, Depression, dog adoption, Dogs and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to A Penny for His Thoughts…

  1. Jill, I thought this and your other posts about Ca$h were beautiful and brought a tear to my eye, thank you for sharing. xx

  2. Sherry Pitman says:

    Sounds like you hit his thoughts right on…..

  3. I love pitbulls, they get such a bad name. Nice reflective thoughts!

  4. Nini says:

    You always make me laugh and cry! Kiss his big old nose for me.

  5. Vanessa says:

    You could have read my dog’s mind, too. The only difference is Pierre will stare me down, whereas your Ca$h is staring dramatically into the middle distance. Heheheh.
    Great post!

  6. cj says:

    Jill, I read ALL your entries relating to Ca$h. I am so glad you rescued him!! He’s gorgeous and such a sweetie. (Thanks for inviting me to ‘c’mon over and check out your boy’. It was worth the trip. 🙂

    • Thank you for reading the whole blog! Ca$h and I just got back from a walk on some Park trails and he has collapsed beside me while I work. I am so glad you enjoyed the read – it is all very encouraging to this rookie!

  7. MANA INDASTREEZ INKA CUZCO says:

    ❤ ca$h is priceless! here in honeyhood we truly believe canines rescue us human beings! best wishes to yall along with some sticky sweet kisses from honey and jalisco. ❤

  8. 2kids2dogs says:

    So beautiful. I love how you imagine Ca$h’s thoughts. I really enjoyed this and also think about my dogs thoughts. 🙂

  9. Happy Friday, Jill!

    You haven’t posted any new adventures lately. Hope you and your Ca$h are doing well. 🙂
    Vanessa

    • You are right! I need to get writing and post another entry. We have been fine, I have just started a new business that Ca$h is a part of and it is keeping us busy – it involves a lot of writing! By Monday evening I want to have the next installment posted. I am so glad that you are keeping me honest! I’ll get to work on one for you right away! XOXOX

      • Write schmrite. Just check in. 🙂 LOL.
        Congrats on your new business! I wish you much success. A lot of writing – what fun! Jealous…..heheheh.
        You have a great weekend Miss Jill!
        XOXOXOX yourself!
        vanessa

  10. You too now – and take care of yourself through the Holiday!

  11. floridaborne says:

    I love the name Ca$h. He’s a good subject for your blogs. What a personality!

Leave a Reply

